Neurotoxicology Specialty Section Annual Report: 2004 - 2005

I. Slate of Officers and Committees

	<u>2003 - 2004</u>	<u>2004 – 2005</u>
President	Stephanie Padilla	Carey Pope
Vice President	Carey Pope	Richard Seegal
Vice President-elect	Richard Seegal	Robert MacPhail
Secretary/Treasurer	Mary Gilbert	Mary Gilbert
Councilors	Kevin Crofton (Past President)	Stephanie Padilla
	Sugar Schantz	Stava Laclay

Susan Schantz Steve Lasley
Lisa Opanashuk Lisa Opanashuk

Committees:

Awards: Marion Ehrich (Council Liason)

Deborah Cory-Slechta (Chair 2004-2005)

Membership: William Slikker (2004-2005)
Animals in Research: Stephen Lasley (Chair 2004-2005)

Brian Marable (2003-2006) Jan Oberdoerster (2004-2007)

Board of Publications: Marion Ehrich (2003-2004)

Career Resource

Development: Ginger Moser (2004-2007)
Program: Phillip Bushness (2004-2007)

Larry Sheets (2003-2005)

Task Force on Chemical/Biological

Terrorism Resource: Marion Ehrich (Council Liason)

Task Force Student Recruitment

and Retention: Marion Ehrich (Council Liason)

2003 - 2004 Annual Meeting: March 18, 2004

II. Activities

The Officer's Meeting was called to order at 7:00am on Monday, March 22, 2004 by the Neurotoxicology Specialty Section (NTSS) President, Stephanie Padilla. In attendance were President Stephanie Padilla, Past President Kevin Crofton, President-Elect Carey Pope, Vice President Richard Seegal Councilors Lisa Opanashuk, Secretary-Treasurer Mary Gilbert, and newly elected officers Stephen Lasley (Councilor) and Robert MacPhail (Vice President Elect).

A student representative was appointed to the NTSS Officers. The President announced this new position at the Business Meeting/Reception and ask for volunteers. Michele Taylor was chosen as our first Student representative. A list of duties and responsibilities compiled by Lisa Opanashuk and Mary Gilbert and approved by the Officers in June, 2004.

The reception and business meeting for the Specialty Section was held on Monday evening March 22, beginning at 6:00 p.m., and was attended by approximately 120 members. President Stephanie Padilla called the meeting to order at approximately 6:30 p.m. The following items were discussed:

A. Election Results

The election results were announced and the new officers, Robert MacPhail and Stephen Lasley were introduced. Mary Gilbert was re-elected for a second term as Secretary-Treasurer. The Nominating Committee was recognized for its effort and the quality of the candidates that was provided for election. The committee consisted of Shayne Gad (Chair), Lisa Opanashuk, Allen Katz and Bill Slikker.

B. Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Finances:

The SS account balance was \$9,693 on April 30, 2003.

Membership in the SS as of June, 2003 stands at 181 plus an undetermined number of student members. Some problem with dues payments of student membership was encountered such that students may not be included in the current membership list. A membership committee established last year continues to work on means of increasing our membership.

C. Monsanto Support for Student Awards

The pre-doctoral and post-doctoral winners of the student awards were announced (see below). For both student and postdoctoral competitions, first prize is \$500.00 cash; second prize is \$300.00 and third prize is \$150.00. As initiated last year, the cash awards to the first-place winners in the pre- and post-doctoral categories were paid from funds provided by Monsanto. This donation originated 4 years ago based on an annual contribution of \$1000.00 for 5 years. This funding expires next year and officers were encouraged to identify. additional sources. As on yet, no such donors have been identified.

D. Taylor and Francis Certificate Award. For both student and postdoctoral competitions, in addition to monetary awards, gift certificates for \$150.00 for 1st prize, \$100.00 for 2nd prize, and \$50.00 for 3rd prize were presented by Taylor Francis Publishers a representative from Taylor Francis was present at the Business Meeting/Reception.

E. Scientific Meeting

Scientific Sessions at SOT. Neurotoxicology was well represented at this year's meeting, with 1 Continuing Education Course, 1 Symposium, 5 Workshops and 9 Poster Sessions. NTSS was primary sponsor for the Symposium and Continuing Education Course and for 2 of the 5 Workshops.

Continuing Education:

Basic Neurotoxicology

Workshops:

Electrophysiology Applied to Neurotoxicity: Evaluation of Promising New Drugs

Assurance of Animal Welfare in Research: Coexistence of Toxicology Studies with Humane Endpoints

Contribution of Neurobehavioral Assessment of Offspring to Hazard Identification and Characterization

Zebrafish: A Model Organism For Assessing Developmental Toxicity in Drug Discovery/Environmental Risk

The National Children's Study: Progress Developing Methods Appropriate for Assessing Children's Exposure, Biomarkers, Genetic Susceptibility

Symposia:

Use of Molecular Approaches to Examine Mechanisms of Neurotoxicity

Poster Sessions

Neurotoxicity General I

Neurotoxicity General II

Developmental and Age-Dependent Neurotoxicity of Metals

Neurotoxicity Pesticides I

Neurotoxicology of Lead, Mercury, and Other Metals

Developmental Neurotoxicity I

Neurtoxicity Pesticides II

Developmental Neurotoxicity II

Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers

F. Awards

1. American Chemical Council Young Investigator Award

The American Chemical Council (ACC) New Investigator Award has cycled back to the NTSS in 2004. This year the American Chemical Council (ACC) Young Investigator Award was received by Nicolay Filipov, a member of the NTSS. This award is work \$100,000.00 for 3 years. Congratulations were extended to Dr. Filopov.

2 . Postdoctoral Awards

Monsanto First Place Award

Dr. Jonathan T. Kern

21 N. Kenosha Drive, Madison WI 53705

Second Place Award

Dr. Yael de Abreu-Villaca

4800 University Drive, Apt 9B, Durham NC 27707

Third Place Award

Dr. Jang Li

School of Pharmacy, University of Wisconson-Madison

6228 Rennebohn Hall, Madison WI 53705

3. Pre-doctoral Awards

Monsanto First Place Award

Mr. Henrik Viberg

Norbyragen 18A, Dept Environmental Toxicology

75236 Uppsala SWEDEN

Second Place

Mr. Salah A. Bakheet

228 Fogerty Hall, Biomedical Sciences

University of Rhode Island, Kingston RI 02881

Third Place Award

Ms. Wendy Haines 2104 Jerimouth Dr., Apex, NC 27502

G. Miscellaneous Items

<u>Web Site.</u> Stephanie Padilla agreed to update the current website an appoint a new webmaster. Russel Carr was identified and agreed to serve as the Webmaster for the NTSS.

III. Other 2003 - 2004 Activities and Accomplishments:

NTSS is planning to institute a "Best Poster in Neurotoxicology" Competition. A subset of abstracts are identified by the committee and authors contacted and requested to provide an extended abstract. Ten abstracts will be identified as the "Top Neurotoxicology Ten, TNT" and awarded blue ribbons for display on their posters and will receive free membership in NTSS if they do not already belong. The top poster author will also be awarded a plaque. The responsibility for orchestrating the first TNT award will fall to VP Elect, Robert MacPhail. We plan to institute this award for the upcoming meeting in March 2005.

IV. Future Plans

- 1. To increase membership in the Specialty Section. Continue attempts to retain members after they have completed their doctoral or post-doctoral training and to identify potential new student members.
- 2. Continue to foster new relationships with industry.
- 3. To continue to provide leadership in the area of neurotoxicology.
- 4. To continue efforts to increase training opportunities for student and post-docs.
- 5.To serve as a medium for disseminating information regarding research opportunities.