ANNUAL REPORT: 2012-2013

May 1, 2012 to April 30, 2013

I. Officers/Committees:

<u>Officers</u> <u>2012-2013</u> <u>2013-2014</u>

President: Pamela Lein Anumantha Kanthasamy

Aaron Bowman Vice President: Anumantha Kanthasamy Will Boyes Vice President-Elect: Aaron Bowman Secretary/Treasurer: Jason Richardson Jason Richardson Past President Gary Miller Pamela Lein Councilors: Christine Curran Nikolay Filipov Christopher Toscano Christopher Toscano

PDA Representative: Paul Eubig Kristen Ryan GSLC Representative: Josh Allen Carly Moore

Committees: N/A

II. Activities:

The annual officers' meeting was called to order by NTSS President Pamela Lein on March 11, 2013 at the Convention Center. In attendance were Chris Toscano (Councilor), Kristen Ryan (postdoctoral representative), Nikolay Filipov (Councilor-elect), Aaron Bowman (Vice-President Elect), Josh Allen (Graduate Student Representative), Anumantha Kanthasamy (Vice-President), Gary Miller (Past-President), Chris Curran (outgoing Councilor), and Jason Richardson (Secretary/Treasurer). Topics of discussion included the poster competition rules of eligibility, the endowment fund status, upcoming CE/program proposals for the 2014 SOT meeting, and mechanisms for increasing membership and visibility of NTSS members.

The reception and business meeting for the Specialty Section was held on March 12, 2013 at the Grand Hyatt. Approximately 180 people were in attendance. NTSS President Pam Lein called the meeting to order at 6:45 PM. The business agenda included: announcement of the elections results for officers, recognition of outgoing officers, report of the Secretary-Treasurer, report on the status of the NTSS Endowment Fund, announcement of the poster competition awards, solicitation for 2014 continuing education and program proposals, announcements, and new business.

Officer and Business Meeting Minutes: (see Attachment I)

Awards:

The annual NTSS poster competition was chaired by NTSS Past-President Gary Miller and included 30 posters from 25 graduate students and 5 postdoctoral fellows. Several members of NTSS served as judges for the poster competition. The winners of the poster competition were: Graduate Students/Mentors

Kevin Kumar/Aaron Bowman, Vanderbilt- 3rd place.

Dilshan Harischandra/Anumantha Kanthasamy IA State- 2nd place.

Aaron Lulla/Jeff Bronstein, UCLA- 1st place.

Aaron also won the Colgate-Palmolive Award from SOT

Postdoctoral fellows/Mentors

Karen Streifel/Pam Lein and Ron Tjalkens, UC Davis-1st place.

Pfizer Undergraduate Travel Awards Recipients from SOT Amy Ashworth and Anna Lang.

2013 SOT Annual Meeting Courses/Sessions sponsored or co-sponsored by NTSS: (See Attachment II)

The NTSS Meeting Proposal Review Committee for the 2012 meeting was chaired by Pamela Lein (President). Gary Miller (Past President) and Anumantha Kanthasamy (Vice President) served as committee members. The committee received 23 proposals for initial review. Of these, 6 were requests for primary endorsement (1 Workshop, 4 symposia, 1 CE Basic) and 15 requested NTSS endorsement. The 2013 SOT Program Planning Committee approved 4 of the 6 NTSS sponsored programs including: 1 CE Basic Proposal "The practice and implementation of neural stem cell-based approaches to neurotoxicology"; 2 Symposium Proposals "Role of air pollution as a risk factor for central nervous system diseases and disorders" and "The dynamics of neuroinflammation and inflammatory cell responses in neurologic disease" and 1 Workshop Proposal "Environmental factors in neurodegenerative diseases".

2014 SOT Annual Meeting Proposals:

NTSS-endorsed program proposals for the 2014 SOT meeting included 1 CE Basic proposal, 10 Symposium proposals, and 2 Workshop proposals.

Endowment Fund Details: The Neurotoxicology Fellowship Award Fund was officially approved in January 2011. It was officially re-named the Toshio Narahashi Neurotoxicology Fellowship Award Fund. This endowment fund was established to provide continuing support for the specialty section with the proceeds going to the student and postdoctoral awards. The Award will be aligned with NTSS and the selection of award recipients is the responsibility of the executive committee of the NTSS. Bestowing of the awards will occur at the NTSS social event held in conjunction with the SOT Annual Meeting. As of April, 2013, the Neurotoxicology Fellowship Award Endowment had net assets of \$9,736. This was based on \$3,025 in current year donations, and a total return on investment of \$811.

Newsletters: (See Attachments III and IV)

Teleseminars: N/A

White Papers: N/A

Contributions to SOT website: The NTSS Councilors, post-doctoral and graduate student representatives worked with SOT staff to redesign the current Web site. New content includes a profile of the award winners. A private Facebook group was created as a supplement to ToXchange for recruitment & retention of student/post-doctoral members.

Other Specialty Section 2011-2012 Activities: N/A